Mountain Gods Vest


This is a special project. My wonderful Mother-in-Law, Barb, gifted me this yarn on a family trip to Arizona. I love the vibrant colors and the luxurious yarn. I never thought I would knit a vest… in new (unused) fingering weight yarn. It just wasn’t on my mind as a knitable possibility. But the delightful yarn shop ladies encouraged me to try on a sample, and maybe it was their sweet compliments, but I fell in love with this vest. I was most interested in the options a vest like this creates in my wardrobe. It’s a perfect transition garment. I plan to wear it over a t-shirt with jeans and even a few dresses. It seemed like a great summer knitting project, not too heavy, but still substantial enough to keep my interest.


Not everything I knit is reclaimed. If I have the chance to support local yarn shops and indie designers I jump on it. I like the challenge of knitting with reclaimed yarn, but I don’t want to create impassible boundaries for myself. This yarn is a treat, it’s special and it’s from my mother-in-law; goodness like this doesn’t happen all the time.


The Pattern: Mountain Gods Vest by Suzanne Nielsen.

Overall I liked this pattern. The center back lace pattern is the most striking feature. I love that it can be worn upside-down as well, giving the vest a fuller look. That also means there is a ton of room to play with color. The pattern has a hem on both the top and bottom. That’s a nice feature, but I find that my hems always roll up toward the right side of the garment, even after blocking. It would be easy to do a stretchy cast on and bind off to replace the hem.


The Yarn: Zen Yarn Garden, Serenity Silk + in Flamingo, Frosted Teal, and Garden in Delft.

The Garden in Delft color-way is part of Zen Yarn Garden’s ARTWALK series. Every dye-lot is based on a piece of artwork. You can learn more about the yarn and inspiration painting here. All three yarns are a merino, cashmere, silk blend. I have never worked with yarn like this before, and it was delightful. Definitely slippery yarn… I will be reaching for something woolier for my next project to make up for all the sliding, but my wooden needles came to the rescue and I never rarely dropped a stitch.

Also the color of this yarn is amazing. So vibrant, so saturated, that middle section is so speckled. If I had to choose a favorite it would be the pink section. That pink… that variegated-ness… I just keep staring!


This project kept me company while visiting my family in Minnesota and enduring the extreme heat of St. Louis. I love that it can be worn two ways (though flipping it can be a struggle… as captured above). This is a perfect summer project and a great wardrobe builder.

2 thoughts on “Mountain Gods Vest”

Leave a Reply

